Our Board

As well as Chairman, Peter Wood, esure Group plc has the following Directors and Non-Executive Directors on its Board:

Stuart Vann

Chief Executive Officer

Stuart was appointed to the Board in September 2011 and became Chief Executive Officer in February 2012. Stuart joined the Company in 2000 and has held various roles including Head of Insurance Risk and Acquisition and Chief Operating Officer. He is a qualified accountant with two decades of experience in the sector.

Stuart has played a leading role esure Group’s key strategic initiatives during his time at esure including its response to the industry personal injury phenomenon, the investment in Gocompare and the Groups footprint expansion.

He is a member of the ABI’s General Insurance Council and also a member of the Worshipful Company of Insurers.

Darren Ogden

Chief Finance Officer

Darren joined esure in 2003. He was promoted to the position of Head of Finance in 2007 and was appointed to the Board as Chief Finance Officer in November 2012.

Darren is a qualified accountant with over 20 years of experience in the insurance industry. He previously spent 13 years at Legal & General, primarily in the general insurance division.

Darren is a member of the Executive and Disclosure Committees.

María Dolores Dancausa

Non-Executive Director

María Dolores was appointed to the Board as a Non-Executive Director in December 2013.

María Dolores Dancausa has undertaken her career in the financial and insurance sector, mostly within the Bankinter Group. She was appointed the general secretary of the company and of the board of Línea Directa in 1994, the year it was founded. She was appointed CEO of the insurer in 2008. During this period, she contributed to consolidating the company and to positioning it as the fifth largest car insurer in Spain.

At the end of 2010 she was appointed CEO of Bankinter. During these years, Bankinter was confirmed as one of the healthiest and most creditworthy institutions in Europe, with a series of indicators (profits, assets, credits, capital, efficiency, etc.) that have not stopped improving throughout the crisis period. According to the last stress test of the European Central Bank, Bankinter proved to be the most creditworthy listed Spanish bank.

María Dolores is a member of the Nomination Committee.

Shirley Garrood

Deputy Chairman and Senior Independent Director

Shirley was appointed to the Board in July 2013. She is also a Non-Executive Director of Hargreaves Lansdown plc.

Shirley is a Chartered Accountant and Corporate Treasurer, having trained with KPMG. She was appointed Chief Operating Officer of Henderson Group plc in 2001 and then Chief Financial Officer from 2009 until 2013. Shirley was an Executive Director at Morley Fund Management (Aviva) from 1998 to 2001 and also Chief Operating Officer from 2000 to 2001.

Shirley chairs the Audit Committee and is a member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committees.

Martin Pike

Non-Executive Director

Martin was appointed to the Board as a Non-Executive Director in August 2015. He is a non-executive director with Standard Life plc, where he Chairs the Risk & Capital Committee and is a member of the Remuneration Committee and the Audit Committee. He is also on the Board of Faraday Underwriting Limited, and he is Chairman of Greencore Construction Limited, a company of which he is joint founder.

Martin spent 30 years with Towers Watson, where he held a number of senior positions, culminating in the post of Managing Director, Risk Consulting & Software EMEA.

Martin Chairs the Remuneration Committee and is a member of the Audit and Risk Committees.

Angela Seymour-Jackson

Non-Executive Director

Angela was appointed to the Board as a Non-Executive Director in October 2015.

She is also the Deputy Chairman and Senior Independent Director of Gocompare.com Group plc, a non-executive director at Henderson Group plc and Rentokil Initial plc.

From December 2016 to September 2016 Angela was the Managing Director of the Workplace Division of Aegon UK plc and was a company appointed member of the Independent Governance Committee at Aegon.

Angela has held various senior marketing and distribution roles from 1989 to 2011 at Norwich Union Insurance, General Accident Insurance, CGU plc and Aviva. She was Chief Executive Officer of RAC Motoring Services Limited from 2010 until 2012 and she conducted the sale of RAC to Carlyle.

Angela is a member of the Risk and Remuneration Committees.

Peter Ward

Non-Executive Director

Peter was appointed to the Board as a Non-Executive Director in 2001. Peter is an actuary who spent his career in insurance working for Commercial Union in Australia, South Africa and the UK. In 1994, he was appointed as a Group Executive Director of Commercial Union plc, a position from which he retired in 2000.

Peter is a Fellow of the Institute of Actuaries and of the Chartered Insurance Institute, a Past President of the Insurance Institute of London and a Past Master of The Worshipful Company of Insurers.

Peter chairs the Risk Committee and is a member of the Audit, Remuneration and Nomination Committees.